Flat Track Canada From Ohsweken Speedway- Round 9 Results- October 6, 2017

Flat Track Canada From Ohsweken Speedway- Round 9 Results- October 6, 2017

Written by  Flat Track Canada on Saturday, 07 October 2017 08:45

Ohsweken, ON (October 7, 2017)- For the second year in a row Oshweken Speedway played host to the final round of the Flat Track Canada series.

While last year the temperature was a bit on the cooler side at the final race, this race proved to be one of the hottest of the year. As the mercury in the thermometer climbed, both riders and machines would be tested in the scorching heat.

After spending most of the flat track season racing in the CSBK series, Doug Lawrence joined the Expert ranks on Saturday with hopes of putting the number 73 Parts Canada machine out front. After playing second fiddle to Tyler Seguin at this race last year, Lawrence was hoping for a little redemption on this night. Lawrence set the tone early on by winning his heat race and he never looked back as he ended up going unbeaten on the night. Along with the heat win Lawrence also took the Open Expert final, the DTX Expert final, as well as the Dash for Cash after a daring move splitting four riders on the exit of turn two on the opening lap. The wins not only allowed Lawrence to pad his wallet a little, it also gave him the opportunity to show off with some impressive wheelies while carrying the checkered flag.

Rounding out the Open Expert class was Brodie Buchan on the KBR Honda and last year's winner Tyler Seguin on the Evans Racing Honda. Buchan's second place finish concluded an impressive season where he never finished off the podium which paved the way for his first ever Open Expert championship. DTX Expert as well as the Dash saw Seguin grab second ahead of Buchan but on this night neither rider had anything for Lawrence.

Open Intermediate looked like it would be a barn burner as only three points separated Luke Rahm and Jimmy McCullough for the title. When the race was run Matty Ward put a dent in McCullough's plans for victory though as he jumped into the lead and never looked back. While Rahm and McCullough waged a race long battle for second, McCullough hoped for another rider to jump in between them to give him the needed points for the title. While McCullough was able to hold on for second on his KBR Honda, it wasn't enough as Rahm used the top of the banking to propel himself to a third place finish as well as the title on his Jeff Wigfield Trucking Honda. In DTX action it was Rahm once again using the brave line in the corners to grab the victory with Ward finishing second and New York native Brandon Newman with a great ride from row two to grab third.

Inside Motorcycles was on hand once again to give out the Hard Charger Award and the $200 bonus that goes along with it. While Brandon Newman looked like he had a shot to win the cash after his DTX race, he put on an incredible charge in the Open Intermediate final just to make sure. With last pick for a starting position on row three after struggling in his heat race, Newman had a perfect start when the light went green. Riding like a man possessed, Newman passed eleven riders on his way to a fourth place finish and the $200 bonus courtesy of Inside Motorcycles magazine.

Oshweken Speedway top three.

Open Novice: Hunter Bauer, Kyle Lonnen, Jacob Rainville
DTX Novice: Jacob Rainville, Logan Wilson, Kyle Lonnen
Youth 250: Branden Keys, Taia Little, Boyd Deadman
VET: John Parker, John Kehoe, Dan Doreen
Open ATV: Andy Wayne, Steve Lagro, Adam Minnie
Production ATV: Steve Lagro, Chuck Graham, Adam Minnie
85cc: Boyd Deadman, Branden Keys, Adrian St. Amand
65cc: Adrian St. Amand, Christopher Pittaway, Shayne Parsons
50 Shaft: Mason Drumm, Kailyn Styres, Trent Goegebeur
50 Chain: Seth Parsons, Brayden Hutchison, Emily Biekx
Beginner: Tysen McLellan, Taia Little, Martine Kehoe
Vintage Mod: Phil Little, Brad Kitto, Mark Fairfull
Vintage Dino: Sean Mathison, Steve Kovacs, Chris Hauk


back to top