First Time CMDRA Champions Emerge At Season Finals

First Time CMDRA Champions Emerge At Season Finals

Written by  on Wednesday, 28 September 2016 07:29

@CMDRA2016 • (September 29, 2016)- The Canadian Motorcycle Drag Racing Association brought its 2016 season to a close at Mission Raceway Park on September 24th and 25th.

With multiple class championships undecided, racers arrived in British Columbia’s lower mainland anxious to battle for critical points in the season standings.

Despite having increased his points lead in the Hawaya Racing Products Pro Dragster class during Saturday qualifying, a first round exit during Sunday’s elimination rounds left Fort Saskatchewan’s Doug Casson in the unenviable position of having others determine his championship fate. With top three contender Quinn Olson also losing in the first round, Al Miles of Edmonton Alberta had the opportunity to claim a fifth consecutive title, but his challenge ended with a second round loss to Washington’s Ron Anderson, leaving Casson on top of the season points standings to win his first ever CMDRA Championship.

In the Arai Helmets Draggin Jeans Super Bike Class, 20 year old Riley Toth of Medicine Hat carried forward the momentum of his win at the CMDRA Badlands Nationals, advancing into Sunday’s final elimination round and gaining the points necessary to take the 2016 Championship in his first year competing full time in the CMDRA.

Other first time champions included Clayton Potter of Calgary Alberta who set a new Super Street ET record of 8.604 seconds enroute to winning the Season Finals race and the 2016 Championship, and Matt Mackay-Smith of Merritt BC with his third win of the season in Blackjacks Roadhouse Pro Mod and his first CMDRA championship.

Full results from the CMDRA Season Finals are available on the CMDRA website.

2015 CMDRA Class Champions:

BlackJacks Roadhouse Pro Modified: Matt Mackay-Smith

Pro Street: Ethan Barkley

Hawaya Racing Products Pro Dragster: Doug Casson

Arai Helmets Dragging Jeans Super Bike: Riley Toth

Super Street: Clayton Potter

Super Gas: Jeff Pitre

Screamin’ Eagle Stock XL: Jeff Pitre

Hot Harley Mike McBrine

Pro-AM Motorsports Street: Mike McBrine

V-Pro: Carl Mills

2015 CMDRA Award Winners:

Most Devoted Volunteer: Monica Westling

Best Dressed Team: Vector Racing

Most Devoted Volunteer Group: Phoenix Racing

Rick Davie Memorial Award-Sportsmanship On & Off the Track: Steve Bunn

Rookie of the Year- Jon Andres Memorial Award: Trev Flight

Wrench of the Year- In Memory of Dave White:  Frank Wahl

Dennis Mark Memorial Award- Outstanding Achievement:  Matt Mackay-Smith

Trev Deeley Award Contribution & Dedication to Canadian Motorcycle Drag Racing: Patrick Lambie

Wally Nesbitt

/ This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

back to top