JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 2115
Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Selection Event Wraps Up; Canadians Unable to Crack Tough Competition Story by Vicki Schouten; photo courtesy of MotoGP.com

Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Selection Event Wraps Up; Canadians Unable to Crack Tough Competition

Written by  on Friday, 12 October 2012 10:13

Three intense days of the Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup Selection Event wrapped up in Monteblanco, Spain this week with twelve young riders from around the globe getting the coveted invitation to join the Rookies Cup for 2013.

A total of 106 of some of the most talented young road racing riders in the world were invited to the selection event, including Canadians Stacey Nesbitt, Eden O’Shell and Tomas Casas.  Riders were split into two groups for the first day of testing, which would see the field narrowed to only 49 riders moving onto day two. While both Nesbitt and O'Shell showed a strong first-day showing, Tomas Casas was the sole Canadian to be invited to return for the second day of testing, which saw the riders split into seven groups and riding a longer circuit than the previous day, with 15 minute sessions in the morning, followed by 20 minutes in the afternoon.

At the end of three days of intense review, the Selection Committee, comprised of Gust Auinger, Harald Bartol, Peter Clifford and Daniel Ribalta, made the decision to choose twelve riders from around the globe, unfortunately none of the three Canadians riders made the selection.

Tomas Casas had this to say via Facebook, “I did not make it for next year Redbull Rookies Cup, but I am very happy to be able to come to Spain, we went on a new track today, it was big, fast and had some tricky corners but I had lots of fun. I also liked the bike very much. I will keep trying hard to do well. Congrats to the 12 kids who made it for next year.”

The twelve riders invited to join the Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup for 2013 include:
  1. Anthony Alonso, United States

  2. Enea Bastianini, Italy

  3. Darryn Binder, South Africa

  4. Aris Michail, Germany

  5. Soushi Mihara, Japan

  6. Joan Mir, Spain

  7. Felix Nässi, Finland

  8. Manuel Pagliani, Italy

  9. Corentin Perolari, France

  10. Toprak Razgatlioglu, Turkey

  11. Olly Simpson, Australia

  12. Mario Tocca, Italy

The complete provisional 2013 Entry List will be published shortly.

Last modified on Friday, 12 October 2012 10:22
Published in News

/ This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

back to top