JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 2115
Montreal Supercross Creator and Promoter Pierre Corbeil to be Honoured by Canadian Motorcycle Hall of Fame

Montreal Supercross Creator and Promoter Pierre Corbeil to be Honoured by Canadian Motorcycle Hall of Fame

Written by  on Thursday, 06 September 2012 16:41

Markham ON - The Canadian Motorcycle Hall of Fame recently announced the eighth member of the class of 2012. Pierre Corbeil will be honoured at the Seventh Annual Canadian Motorcycle Hall of Fame Induction Banquet and Reunion, which takes place on November 3, 2012 at the Delta Centre-Ville in Montreal, Quebec. A long-time supporter of Inside Motorcycles, we're pleased to hear of Pierre's induction! 

In 1977, Pierre Corbeil's creation of the Montreal Supercross in Montreal Olympic Stadium heralded a new age for motorcycle competition in Canada. Motorcycling has enjoyed a rich history in this country, but this event would make Montreal a motorcycle mecca. "Drawing over 50,000 spectators each year, Montreal Supercross is the biggest motocross event in Canada," said Hall of Fame chair Kellee Irwin. "We owe a great deal to Pierre Corbeil's vision and commitment."

Beginning his life-long passion for motorcycles on the back of a Jawa CZ 250cc in 1969, Pierre observed the need to grow the motocross community in Quebec, and quickly added promotional work to his amateur racing résumé. Success came early to Pierre when he launched the construction of the Ste-Julie racetrack in 1972. His talent for bringing the sport to wider audiences quickly found approval and in 1973 he was elected to the National Board of the Canadian Motorcycle Association (CMA), where he served loyally for seventeen years. It was during this time that Pierre established the wildly popular Montreal Supercross. Never one to sit still, Corbeil left the CMA in 1994 to introduce the sport to ever more enthusiasts and competitors when he and fellow Hall of Fame inductee, Buddy Ford, founded ACMQ "Association des Coureurs de Moto du Quebec." Pierre's tireless work for motorcyclists in this country has left a proud legacy that will continue to grow.

The other motorcycling legends and champions to be officially inducted into the Canadian Motorcycle Hall of Fame at this year's Hall of Fame banquet and ceremony will be announced over the next few weeks. This accomplished group of men and women have achieved excellence in one or more competitive disciplines or made a significant contribution to the well-being, advancement or general positive image of motorcycling in Canada.

The Canadian Motorcycle Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Reunion is the annual signature event of the Canadian International Motorcycle Heritage Museum Foundation (CIMHMF), a non-profit association with charitable status. It is governed by an independent board of volunteer directors located from coast to coast and sponsored by the Motorcyclists Confederation of Canada (MCC). Founded by Bar and Hedy Hodgson in 1999, the CIMHMF preserves and promotes Canadian motorcycle history for the benefit of the motorcycling community and public. Since the first induction banquet in Toronto in 2006, almost 100 distinguished motorcyclists have been inducted into the Canadian Motorcycle Hall of Fame. Purchase tickets to this year's banquet on the Hall of Fame's Eventbrite site.

Last modified on Thursday, 06 September 2012 16:45
Published in News

/ This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

back to top