First Time For Flat Track Motorcycle Racing in Drumheller, Alberta Carol Douglas photo

First Time For Flat Track Motorcycle Racing in Drumheller, Alberta

Written by  Carol Douglas on Thursday, 24 August 2017 16:07

Drumheller, AB (August 24, 2017)-  On August 19 and 20 Dinosaur Downs Speedway held it's first motorcycle flat track races.


The track is operated by Drumheller Stampede and Agricultural Society, under the guidance of long time president Mike Hansen. The track has  a schedule of two day events on it's 3/8 dirt oval over the summer, featuring I.M.C.A. Modifieds, hobby stocks, Sprints, Late Models and Legends.

The 1/2 mile track was originally built to race horses and was later  used to race chuckwagons (as seen at the Calgary Stampede). After two seasons of Model-T racing on the track, it was realized that the track could be put to other racing uses.

Robby McHenry was recruited  as a volunteer to organize the first flat track motorcycle races.

A line up of six classes was organized: Calgary Harley-Davidson  Vintage 750 Twins, Calgary Harley-Davidson modern 450 DTX,  Cycle Works Indian Motorcycle Vintage B, Vintage 4 Valve Singles,  Vintage A/250 Two Stroke and Modern 250 DTX.

The car racing track volunteers: Mike Hansen, Merl Fitzpatrick and Roger Bonneville prepared the track under the guidance of McHenry.

Renowned announcer Stu McColl was invited to call the event. Seventy year old McColl is himself a racer, riding a light super bike on Edmonton's  Castrol road course. Doug Biette was brought in for the flagman duties.

The weather was perfect for the weekend and the event went off smoothly.  Racers want to return next year.

Class Winners (top 3)

Calgary Harley-Davidson Vintage 750 Twin: 1. Paul Lavoie, 2. Jim Titmus, 3. Ken Cook

Calgary Harley-Davidson Modern 450 DTX: 1. Ryan Middelton, 2. Jim Titmus, 3. Darren Deep

Cycle World Indian Motorcycles Vintage B: 1. Cody Moir, 2. Jim Titmus, 3. Cal Mckee

Vintage 4-Valve Single: 1. Don Galloway, 2. Peter Thomson, 3. Paul Lavoie

Vintage A 250 Two-Stroke: 1. Peter Thomson, 2. Scott Hewgill, 3. Clifford Seib

Modern 250 DTX : 1. Branda Dyck, 2. Vance Reesor, 3. Rachel Hall

Calgary Harley-Davidson Hard Charger: Vance Reesor 


From: Carol A. Douglas (volunteer, media and public relations)

back to top